Search for library management software and Google mixes two different products: book-catalogue systems for schools and colleges, and seat-and-fee apps for paid study libraries. This comparison covers only the second kind, the apps that track seats, shifts, fees and attendance in a reading room.
Quick answer
The best library management software in India depends on your library's size. As of October 2026, Librify has the only published free plan here with no student or seat cap, and paid plans from ₹59 a month. SeatWise suits multi-branch owners wanting one flat plan, Manage Desk suits biometric users, and BookMyLib suits owners wanting online UPI collection.
Librify is a library management app for private self-study libraries and reading rooms in India. Librify publishes this blog, so we have put our own limits next to everyone else's and linked every competitor fact to that company's own page. Prices in this market change every few months, so check each site before you pay.
How we compared the software
We compared ten apps built for paid study libraries on the seven things owners ask about on their first call: how far the free plan goes, the cheapest published paid price, WhatsApp messages, how attendance is marked, multi-branch support, languages, and whether there is an Android app. We did not give star ratings. A 40-seat reading room in Prayagraj and a three-branch chain in Kota need different things, and a single score hides that.
Every competitor fact was checked on the vendor's own pricing page, homepage or Play Store listing on 27 October 2026. Where a site does not say something, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing. We left out vendor claims we could not check, such as customer counts and "AI" features.
Comparison table: 10 study library apps
The table below is the short version. Read the free plan column first: it decides whether you can run a real month of admissions before paying anything. For a side-by-side of Librify against the most common alternatives, see the Librify comparison page.
| Software | Free plan limit | Cheapest published paid price | Attendance | Multi-branch | Languages | Android app | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Librify | Free forever; no student or seat cap; 1 branch, 1 owner/admin | ₹59/month (Mini, 1-50 seats) | Receipts and dues on Mini and Pro; expiry reminders on Pro | QR scan from student app | Unlimited on Pro | 9 interface languages (switch on Mini and Pro) | Owner and student apps on Play |
| GoLibrary | Free for life up to 25 members | Not published on homepage | Auto SMS and WhatsApp reminders | Fingerprint, face or card | Yes | Not stated | Android and iOS |
| 24Library | Free forever; 50 students, 1 branch, 1 admin | ₹749/year (labelled limited-time; list ₹2,399) | Fee reminders mentioned on homepage | QR check-in; biometric support | Yes (free plan: 1 branch) | Not stated | Yes, on Play |
| SeatWise | No free plan; 14-day trial | ₹199/month; ₹1,499/year | Auto reminders before expiry, all plans | QR ID card for entry check | Unlimited, all plans | Not stated | Android and iOS |
| Libly | Free forever up to 20 students (manual reminders) | ₹199/month; ₹1,999/year (+18% GST) | Paid plans; Hindi, English or Hinglish templates | QR-based | Not stated | Hindi, English, Hinglish messages | Web app for phone; no app named |
| My Abhyasika | No free plan listed; 14-day trial | ₹249/month or ₹2,000/year (1-50 seats) + ₹499 onboarding | ₹0.1725 per message | Not stated on pricing page | Unlimited, billed together | Website in 7 languages; app not stated | Not stated |
| Manage Desk | Free trial (length not stated) | ₹299/month; ₹2,999/year | Yes | Biometric, QR or manual | Yes | Not stated | Yes, on Play |
| BookMyLib | Free lifetime; 100 active members, 100 seats, 1 branch, 100 WhatsApp/month | ₹249/month (Pro) | 100 to 1,500 messages/month by plan | QR with GPS check (free plan) | Business plan, up to 3 | Hindi page; app not stated | Student PWA; app on Play |
| Libron | 30-day Pro trial | Prices hidden on pricing page | Mentioned on homepage | QR check-in | Pro: 2; Enterprise: 5 included | Not stated | Student app in early access, not on Play |
| Library Pro | No free plan; 7-day trial | ₹275/month (Silver, 1 branch) | Reminders, invoices, notices | QR scan from student app | Gold: up to 2 | Not stated | Student app on Play |
Two patterns stand out. Free plans in this market are mostly capped by student count (20, 25, 50 or 100), while paid plans are mostly flat monthly fees between ₹199 and ₹299. Librify differs on both counts: its free plan is capped by branch and login instead of students, and, like My Abhyasika, it prices paid plans by seat count, starting at ₹59.
Each option: one strength, one limitation
Each profile says who the app suits, what it costs on its own site as of October 2026, one thing it does well and one limit you should know before signing up.
Librify
Librify suits single-branch libraries that want to start free and pay only when they need reports and WhatsApp. Librify's free plan does not cap the number of students or seats; it is limited to one branch and one owner/admin login (as of October 2026). The free plan covers student records, QR self-registration, seats and shifts, attendance and the student app.
Librify Mini costs ₹59 to ₹159 a month by seat count and adds daily Excel reports, revenue and expense tracking and WhatsApp receipts. Pro (₹149 to ₹349) adds expiry reminders and unlimited branches. Full rates are on the Librify pricing page.
Strength: the lowest monthly paid price in this list and 9 interface languages, including Marathi, Bengali and Tamil. Limitation: Librify does not collect fees online; it records UPI and cash payments and shows who is due. It also does not connect to biometric machines, and automatic expiry reminders are on Pro only.
GoLibrary
GoLibrary suits owners who already use, or want, a fingerprint or face machine at the door. Its homepage lists a plan that is free for life up to 25 members, as of October 2026, with automatic SMS, WhatsApp and email reminders, and apps on Android and iOS. Paid plan prices are not published on the homepage.
Strength: biometric attendance by fingerprint, face or card, plus lockers and enquiry tracking. Limitation: 25 members is a small free limit for a library running two or three shifts, and without published prices you have to ask for a quote. If you are searching for a GoLibrary alternative because of that cap, compare the free plan column above first.
24Library
24Library suits small libraries that want a cheap yearly plan. Its pricing page shows, as of October 2026, a free-forever plan for 50 students with 1 branch and 1 admin, and Premium at ₹749 a year, labelled a limited-time price against a list price of ₹2,399. Premium removes the student cap and adds invoices, SMS reminders and revenue reports.
Strength: ₹749 a year is the lowest annual paid price in this list, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on Premium. Limitation: the free plan stops at 50 students, and the ₹749 price is marked limited-time, so budget for the list price at renewal.
SeatWise
SeatWise suits owners with two or more branches who want one plan with everything included. Its pricing page lists, as of October 2026, ₹199 a month, ₹999 for six months or ₹1,499 a year, all with the same features, unlimited branches and a 14-day trial. Plans do not auto-renew.
Strength: unlimited branches at ₹1,499 a year is cheap for a chain, and WhatsApp renewal reminders are on every plan. Limitation: there is no free plan, so after 14 days you pay or stop.
Libly
Libly suits owners who send most of their reminders in Hindi or Hinglish. Its homepage shows, as of October 2026, a plan that is free forever up to 20 students with manual reminders only, then ₹199 a month, ₹1,999 a year or ₹3,999 for three years, plus 18% GST. Paid plans send WhatsApp payment reminders through the official WhatsApp Business API.
Strength: reminder templates in Hindi, English or Hinglish, and lockers billed together with the seat fee. Limitation: 20 students is the smallest free limit here, and Libly describes itself as phone-friendly web software rather than naming an Android app.
My Abhyasika
My Abhyasika suits abhyasika owners in Maharashtra who also want a public website for the library. Its pricing page prices by reserved seats, as of October 2026: ₹249 a month or ₹2,000 a year for 1-50 seats, up to ₹649 a month for 251-500 seats, with a 14-day trial and a one-time ₹499 onboarding fee. Automated WhatsApp messages cost ₹0.1725 each.
Strength: every plan includes a branded library website with a custom domain, and unlimited branches are billed together. Limitation: there is no permanent free plan, and the onboarding fee plus per-message WhatsApp charges add to the yearly cost.
Manage Desk
Manage Desk suits libraries that want biometric attendance without buying a separate software add-on. Its pricing page lists one plan, as of October 2026: ₹299 a month or ₹2,999 a year, with every feature included and no per-student pricing. Attendance can be biometric, QR or manual, and it supports ESSL and ZKTeco devices.
Strength: biometric integration is included at no extra software charge. Limitation: the device itself is a separate purchase that Manage Desk puts at roughly ₹3,000 to ₹8,000, and the trial length is not stated on the pricing page.
BookMyLib
BookMyLib suits owners who want students to pay fees by UPI inside the app. Its pricing page lists, as of October 2026, a free lifetime plan for 1 branch, 100 seats, 100 active members and 100 WhatsApp messages a month, Pro at ₹249 a month and Business at ₹599 a month. Online UPI collection on Pro and Business goes straight to your account with a 0% BookMyLib platform fee.
Strength: online fee collection and QR attendance with a GPS check, which Librify does not offer. Limitation: Free and Pro are single-branch, so a second branch means the ₹599 Business plan, and every plan has a monthly WhatsApp message cap.
Libron
Libron suits larger libraries with several halls. Its pricing page shows, as of October 2026, a Pro plan for 500 seats, 10 halls and 2 branches, and an Enterprise plan with 5 branches included. New accounts get a 30-day Pro trial with no card. Prices are hidden on the page, shown as "₹•••".
Strength: high seat and hall limits plus Aadhaar validation on Pro. Limitation: you cannot compare cost without signing up, and the Libron student app is in early access as a direct download, not yet on the Play Store.
Library Pro
Library Pro (librarypro.in) is seat management software for study libraries, not a book catalogue. Its homepage lists, as of October 2026, a 7-day free trial, Silver at ₹275 a month for one branch and Gold at ₹344 a month for up to two branches. Students mark attendance by scanning a QR code in the student app, and WhatsApp carries payment reminders, invoices and notices.
Strength: QR attendance through a student app, plus WhatsApp for reminders and invoices. Limitation: there is no free plan, and three or more branches need a custom quote. Searching for "My Library Pro"? That is a different product: MyLibraryPro offers a 30-day premium trial with an option to drop to a free plan.
What a 50-seat library pays in a year
A 50-seat, single-branch reading room pays between ₹0 and about ₹3,300 a year for software, going by the vendors' own pricing pages. That is roughly what three or four students pay for one month in a tier-2 city, so the right question is which plan saves you the most time at the front desk, not which is cheapest.
| Software | Plan for a 50-seat single branch | Cost for 12 months |
|---|---|---|
| Librify | Free / Mini / Pro | ₹0 / ₹590 / ₹1,490 |
| 24Library | Premium | ₹749 (limited-time price) |
| SeatWise | Yearly | ₹1,499 |
| Libly | Yearly | ₹1,999 + GST = ₹2,358.82 |
| My Abhyasika | Micro, yearly | ₹2,000 + ₹499 onboarding, WhatsApp extra |
| Manage Desk | Annual | ₹2,999 (biometric device extra) |
| BookMyLib | Pro, monthly | ₹2,988 at ₹249 a month (yearly total not shown) |
| Library Pro | Silver, 12-month offer | ₹3,303.72 |
| GoLibrary, Libron | Paid plans | Not published; ask for a quote |
Hidden costs matter more than the sticker price. Check for onboarding fees, per-message WhatsApp charges, GST added at checkout, and biometric hardware. Our guide to library software costs in India breaks these down line by line.
Why Koha and e-Granthalaya do not fit a paid study library
Koha and e-Granthalaya are good software for a different job: running a book library. Koha calls itself a free software library automation package and covers cataloguing, lending, returns and serials. e-Granthalaya, built by the National Informatics Centre, is a library management platform for government libraries.
A paid self-study library rents seats, not books. Students bring their own UPSC or NEET material, pay roughly ₹600 to ₹2,500 a month for a seat depending on city and shift, and leave when their plan ends. Neither Koha nor e-Granthalaya has a shift-wise seat map, per-shift pricing, renewal tracking or WhatsApp dues messages. If you run both a book corner and a reading room, keep the book catalogue in Koha and run seats and fees in a study library app.
How to pick by library size
Pick on two things: how many students you will have in six months, and the one feature you cannot work without (biometric, online UPI collection, or a second branch). The size bands below assume a single owner running two to four shifts.
Starting out, or under 50 students
Start on a free plan and keep your paper register running in parallel for the first month, so you can check the app's numbers against it. Librify's free plan has no student cap, so you will not be forced to upgrade at student 21 or 51. 24Library (50 students) and BookMyLib (100 active members) also give you a full admission cycle for free. See our list of free library management apps for what each free plan leaves out.
50 to 150 seats, one branch
At this size, fee follow-up is the main job, so pay for WhatsApp receipts and dues. Librify Mini costs ₹99 a month for 51-100 seats and ₹119 for 101-200; Libly and SeatWise are ₹199 flat. If you want automatic expiry reminders without typing them yourself, compare Librify Pro (₹179 for 51-100 seats) with SeatWise, which includes reminders on every plan.
Two or more branches, or 150+ seats
For a chain, check the branch limit before the price. SeatWise and My Abhyasika include unlimited branches, Librify Pro has unlimited branches, owners and admins, BookMyLib Business stops at 3, and Library Pro Gold and Libron Pro stop at 2. Ask each vendor whether reports can be filtered branch by branch, since that is what you will open every night.
If you need biometric or online fee collection
If your students already use a fingerprint machine, shortlist GoLibrary, Manage Desk and 24Library, because Librify does not connect to biometric devices. If you want students to pay inside the app, BookMyLib offers UPI collection on Pro and Business; Librify only records payments. For a full evaluation checklist with trial questions, use our guide to choosing library management software.
Mistake we see often
Owners pick an app because of a long feature list, then never switch on half of it. Run the trial during the first week of the month, when renewals and new admissions pile up, and test three jobs: admitting a student to an evening seat, recording a UPI payment, and finding who is due this week. If any of those takes more than a minute, keep looking.
If you are still weighing an app against a paper register or Excel, our top library management apps comparison covers that choice and how to move your current students across.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best library management software in India?
For a private paid study library, there is no single winner; it depends on size and must-have features. As of October 2026, Librify has the only published free plan here without a student or seat cap, plus paid plans from ₹59 a month. SeatWise sells one ₹199 plan with unlimited branches, and Manage Desk includes biometric device integration.
Is there free library management software for study libraries?
Yes. As of October 2026, Librify's free plan does not cap students or seats and is limited to one branch and one owner/admin login. 24Library is free up to 50 students, BookMyLib up to 100 active members, GoLibrary up to 25 members and Libly up to 20 students. Koha is free too, but it is built for lending books.
Which library software is cheapest for a 50-seat library?
Librify Mini costs ₹59 a month or ₹590 a year for up to 50 seats, as of October 2026. 24Library Premium is ₹749 a year at a price it labels limited-time, and SeatWise is ₹1,499 a year. If you only need registration, seats, shifts and attendance, Librify's free plan costs nothing.
Can Koha or e-Granthalaya run a self-study library?
Not well. Koha and e-Granthalaya are built to catalogue and lend books. They have no shift-wise seat map, no per-shift fees and no WhatsApp renewal reminders. A paid study library rents seats by shift and students bring their own books, so it needs seat and fee tracking, not a book catalogue.
Which library app supports biometric attendance?
As of October 2026, GoLibrary lists fingerprint, face and card attendance, Manage Desk includes integration with ESSL and ZKTeco devices in its ₹299 plan, and 24Library mentions biometric support. Librify does not connect to biometric machines; students mark attendance by scanning a QR code with their own phone.
Does Librify collect fees online from students?
No. Librify records UPI, cash and other payments and shows who is due, but it does not collect money online. On Mini and Pro it sends WhatsApp receipts and payment-due messages. If collecting UPI fees inside the app matters to you, BookMyLib offers it on its Pro and Business plans as of October 2026.
Librify publishes this blog. We have tried to keep this comparison fair; check each product's own site for current details.
Run a full month of admissions free, with no student cap.
Free plan available. Paid plans from ₹59 a month.
Start free on Librify



